Polis Books

“Reminiscent of Agatha Christie mysteries, this first in the Harith Athreya series is a sure hit for readers who love a taste of foreign intrigue and a solid whodunit. Fans of Ngaio Marsh’s A MAN LAY DEAD and Patricia Moyes’s DEAD MEN DON'T SKI will also enjoy.”
―Library Journal

"Channeling Agatha Christie isn't a bad way for a writer to spend his time, not if he does it well. Raman does it splendidly...{he} delivers a full-blast Christie mystery set in India but full of classic Christie tropes."
―Booklist

"In this kickoff to a new series, Raman brilliantly evokes Agatha Christie’s classic country estate mysteries for modern-day India. It’s an ingenious plot, and Raman takes obvious delight in teasing out the suspense to great effect."―CrimeReads

"Intriguing contemporary whodunit and series launch...fans of golden age mysteries will look forward to the sequel."―Publishers Weekly

For fans of Knives Out, a book that embodies all the things we love about Agatha Christie—a haunted manor house, estranged relatives a will, and a murder— set in modern-day India, and the first in a series from author RV Raman.

Aging and wheelchair-bound patriarch Bhaskar Fernandez has finally reclaimed his family property after a bitter legal battle, and now wants to reunite his aggrieved relatives. So, he invites them to remote Greybrooke Manor in the misty Nilgiris —a mansion that has played host to several sudden deaths; a colonial edifice that stands alone in a valley that is said to be haunted by the ghost of an Englishman. But Bhaskar has other, more practical problems to deal with.

He knows that his family is waiting for him to die to regain the family fortune, and to safeguard himself against violence during the house party, he writes two conflicting wills. Which one of them comes into force depends on how he dies.

Into this tinderbox, he brings Harith Athreya, a seasoned investigator. When a landslide occurs, temporarily isolating them all at the mansion, and resulting in a murder, Athreya finds that murder is not the only thing the mist conceals. WILL TO KILL is the first Harith Athreya mystery.