Polis Books

Clea Simon

Clea is the author of the suspense novel WORLD ENOUGH, four mystery series, and three nonfiction books.

Her new, darker Blackie and Care mystery series starts with The Ninth Life and continues with As Dark As My Fur (Severn House).

The Theda Krakow mystery series was launched in 2005 with Mew is for Murder and continued with Cattery Row and Cries and Whiskers, and Probable Claws (Poisoned Pen Press).

Her Dulcie Schwartz series launched in 2009 with Shades of Grey and continues with Grey Matters, Grey Zone, Grey Expectations, True Grey, Grey Dawn, Grey Howl, Stages of Grey, Code Grey, and Into the Grey (Severn House).

The Pru Marlowe pet noir series started with Dogs Don’t Lie and continues with Cats Can’t Shoot, Parrots Prove Deadly, Panthers Play for Keeps, Kittens Can Kill, and When Bunnies Go Bad (Poisoned Pen Press).

Clea’s nonfiction books are Mad House: Growing Up in the Shadow of Mentally Ill Siblings (Doubleday, 1997), Fatherless Women: How We Change After We Lose Our Dads (Wiley, 2001), and The Feline Mystique: On the Mysterious Connection Between Women and Cats (St. Martin’s Press, 2002).

Her essays are included in several anthologies, including Cat Women: Female Writers on Their Feline Friends, For Keeps: Women Tell the Truth About Their Bodies, Growing Older, and Acceptance, and He Said What? Women Write About Moments When Everything Changed (Seal Press). Her short mysteries are included in Christmas Cats: A Literary Companion (Chamberlain Bros.), Deadfall: Crime Stories by New England Authors (Level Best), Cambridge Voices (Friends of the CPL), and Tales from the House Band, Volumes 1 and 2 (Plus One Press). She has also written new introductions for two Agatha Christie classics, The Mysterious Affair at Styles and The Secret Adversary, published by the Barnes and Noble Library of Essential Reading.

A regular contributor to the Boston Globe, her writing pops up occasionally in such publications as American Prospect, Ms., San Francisco Chronicle, and Salon.com.

An Incantation of Cats

The new book in Clea Simon's delightfully and wickedly mischievous Witch Cats of Cambridge mystery series!

A Spell of Murder

The first in a fun, frothy, and fantastical new series about three mischievous, mystical felines, their plucky human owner, and a murder they’ll have to solve together.

A Cat on the Case

The new book in the enchanting Witch Cats of Cambridge mystery series by Clea Simon!

Hold Me Down

A dark, gritty standalone novel of suspense about one woman forced to reckon with her past...even if it kills her. “Lyrical, layered, and full of surprises." –Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Last Girl Ghosted