Polis Books

Once More Unto the Breach

Available now in trade paperback and ebook May 14th!

“Stirring and skillfully-told and plotted, Meghan Holloway’s historical novel ONCE MORE UNTO THE BREACH tells the story of a widowed World War I veteran hunting for his estranged son in France as World War II rages about him. The characters are full and rich, their emotions are raw and honest, and throughout the suspenseful tale they come to know the healing powers of love and place.”
—Mark Sullivan, #1 bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky

"With a taut plotline and lyrical prose, Meghan Holloway weaves history and suspense into a searing and visceral tale of unyielding love and epic valor against one of the darkest moments of human history. Once More Unto The Breach is impactful and impressive! ―Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

"Holloway writes vividly about the chaos of battle and of liberation, but she also tells a moving story of tenderness and love―perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale." ―Booklist

For readers of The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky comes a gripping historical thriller set against a fully-realized WWII backdrop about the love a father has for his son and the lengths he is willing to go to find him, from a talented new voice in suspense. Rhys Gravenor, Great War veteran and Welsh sheep farmer, arrives in Paris in the midst of the city's liberation with a worn letter in his pocket that may have arrived years too late.

As he follows the footsteps of his missing son across an unfamiliar, war-torn country, he struggles to come to terms with the incident that drove a wedge between the two of them. Joined by Charlotte Dubois, an American ambulance driver with secrets of her own, Rhys discovers that even as liberation sweeps across France, the war is far from over. And his personal war has only begun as he is haunted by memories of previous battles and hampered at every turn by danger and betrayal. In a race against time and the war, Rhys follows his son's trail from Paris to the perilous streets of Vichy to the starving mobs in Lyon to the treacherous Alps. But Rhys is not the only one searching for his son. In a race of his own, a relentless enemy stalks him across the country and will stop at nothing to find the young man first.